Aalto University School of Economics will arrange its 14th Ceremonial Conferment


The Conferment of Degrees will start at the Aalto University School of Economics, Main building (Runeberginkatu 14-16), on Friday, May 20, at 12 noon. President Martti Ahtisaari will make a keynote address in the Conferment of Degrees.

At the conferment ceremony, the university will confer degrees on Masters of Science (Economics and Business Administration), Doctors of Science (Economics and Business Administration) and Doctors of Philosophy who have graduated after 2006. Additionally, former students who took part in the conferment ceremony of 1961 will be awarded the title ‘riemumaisteri’. This title can be granted to students who have graduated and taken part in a conferment ceremony 50 years ago.

Honorary doctorates will be conferred on distinguished individuals who have made significant contributions to science, business or society.

An honorary doctorate is the highest honor that the university can award.

In 2011, the Aalto University School of Economics will award the following distinguished individuals with an honorary doctorate:

Former CEO Arto Hiltunen, SOK
Mr Hiltunen began his career at S Group in 1980. Most recently, he was the CEO of SOK between 2007 and 2010. Hiltunen is a board member in several Finnish companies and in 2011 he was elected Chairman of Itella’s Board of Directors.

Governor Erkki Liikanen, Bank of Finland
Mr Liikanen is the Governor of the Bank of Finland. He is also a member of the Governing Council of the ECB (2004–) and a member of the IMF Board of Governors (2004–).

Mayor Jussi Pajunen, City of Helsinki
Mr Pajunen is the ninth and current mayor of the City of Helsinki. He was elected as mayor on June 1, 2005 for a term of seven years. The President of the Republic granted Pajunen the honorary title of Lord Mayor in 2006.

Councillor of Commerce, Mr Heikki Timonen, Machinery Oy
Mr Timonen is the Chairman of the Board of Machinery Oy. Before his duties as the Chairman of the Board, Timonen was the Managing Director of the family business that celebrates its 100th anniversary this year.

Councillor of Mining, Mrs Maarit Toivanen-Koivisto, Onvest Oy
Ms Toivanen-Koivisto is the President and CEO of Onvest Oy since 2000 and the Chairman of the Board of Onninen Oy. Toivanen-Koivisto became the President & CEO pro tem of Onninen Oy in August 2010.

Professor Dong-Sung Cho, Soul National University
Mr Cho is a dean and a professor at the College of Business Administration, Seoul National University. He was a visiting professor at the Helsinki School of Economics in 1991-2000.

Professor Yves Doz, INSEAD
Mr Doz is a professor of technological innovation at INSEAD and a visiting professor at the Aalto University School of Economics.

Professor Mark Grinblatt, UCLA
Mr  Grinblatt is a professor of finance at the UCLA Anderson School of Management, where he has been working since 1981.

Professor Sirkka Järvenpää, University of Texas, Austin
Ms Järvenpää has for long been one of the top international researchers in information systems science. As a researcher of e-commerce, virtual organizations and team work, in particular, she represents the absolute cutting edge of international research.

Professor Torsten Persson, Stockholm University
Mr Persson is a Swedish economist and a professor of economics at the Institute for International Economic Studies at Stockholm University.

Media representatives are welcome to follow the Conferment of Degrees. Additionally they have a possibility to interview honorary doctors as well as Conferrer, Dean Jyrki Wallenius and Master of Ceremonies, Professor Rebecca Piekkari. The interviews are booked individually.

Signing up for the Conferment of Degrees, interview and photo requests:viestinta-econ [at] aalto [dot] fi

More information:
Communications Manager Ms Lotta Knuutinen, tel. +358 50 349 1263 and Communications Officer Ms Terhi Ollikainen, tel. +358 50 566 5673
viestinta-econ [at] aalto [dot] fi


Bookmark and Share